Dare to Drive in Davis?

April 24, 2011 at 4:04 pm 2 comments

Oh what a feeling–Toyota!  That was the jingle back in the 1980’s when I was a teenager learning how to drive.  Last week, I sat in the passenger’s seat as my daughter took the wheel.  And oh what a feeling it was!!  Feeling scared?  Yes!  Feeling old?  Yes!  Feeling like my life just passed in front of me?  Yes!!

OK, I’m not going to embarrass her by writing sappy things like “I remember when she was a little baby, saying ‘My daddy!’ with the cutest of smiles…”  But I am going to embarrass her by posting this picture that I took as I firmly put on my seat belt and prayed for dear life!  (and the lives of those on the road in Davis).  When you see this student driver on the roads of Davis, please lift up a prayer for her to focus on driving.  And while you are at it, lift up a prayer for her dad! :)

Hey Kristen, at least you don’t need to wear a helmet like you had to while riding your bike and the seat belt won’t mess up your stylin’ hair!  ;)

As I was teaching her some driving tips, I was reminded of the basics of life that I’d like to share with all of you:  Remember to check your mirrors and don’t forget to look over the shoulder…because the person passing by in the left lane might be my precious daughter!

Entry filed under: About Life, Leadership Lessons, Parenting Lessons. Tags: .

Good Friday & Better Easter! Big Changes All Around

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ucd alum  |  April 27, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    isn’t that a van pastor Jonathan? Cars these days have so many features, you really don’t NEED to drive.

    Thanks for the blog, your stories always make my day.

    Reply
  • 2. John  |  May 5, 2011 at 6:56 am

    Wow, Kristen is starting to drive now! Time sure has passed.

    But remember, to be safe – just don’t text or make calls while driving.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Joong “Jonathan” Lee

This weblog contains thoughts & reflections as I pastor Gracepoint Davis Church (formerly known as Waypoint Community Church) and engage in various ministries.

Archives

RSS Gracepoint Devotions

RSS Dis-Gracepoint Humor

  • English Patient: Cherokee
    Friend 1: Wow, you are part Cherokee?Friend 2: Oh really?  I thought that you said you're from Turkey!Friend 3: Hahaha!  No, I said that I am part Cherokee.Friend 4: That does sound pretty similar... Turkey and Cherokee.English Patient Sister Y: What country is Cherokee?Views expressed in this posting is solely those of the poster, and not necessarily o […]

RSS InterHigh Fellowship

  • Recap: June IH Monthly – Element Live!
    Many friends and family came to the “Element Live: Restless” as part of the InterHigh Monthly this past May 31, which featured skits, video, and live music.  Through humorous and thoughtful illustrations, we learned the convincing reasons for Christianity and were moved to engage our friends and family to ask the questions of life.  We...

RSS Gracepoint San Diego Church Website

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Gracepoint Ministries

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.