Mom’s Love Never Forgets

Sorry I haven’t posted on my blog even after I promised I would (a couple of times before). I haven’t forgotten but just been busy, as Susanna and I are Regional Directors, visiting Gracepoint church plants across the greater Midwest (and of course, the Great State of Texas!). I just remembered y’all must be curious to know where I am and what I’ve been up to. Well, here’s one installment in “A day and the life of a Gracepoint pastor!”

Today, I spent the day at Torrance Memorial Hospital because my mom had to get a brain surgery–yes, brain surgery! That might seem terrifying, but thanks to medical advancements and skilled healthcare providers, she now has a shunt in her brain to drain excess cerebrospinal fluid which might have been causing her memory loss and other issues. For you pre-meds out there, my mom was diagnosed with NPH (Normal Pressure Hydrocephalus) and that’s a much better diagnosis than Alzheimer’s disease since it’s treatable with this surgery.

My mom was the first surgery of the day so we had to check in at 5:30 AM. My dad hates being late and so he got up at 4 AM, while I slept in until 4:40 AM, just in time for a quick shower before rushing to the hospital. No leisurely breakfast for sure and only after surgery started did my dad and I grab something to eat at the cafeteria.

Mom’s styling with a beanie while Dad and I don masks.

Guess what my mom said when she first saw me in her ICU room: (in Korean) “Did you get to eat breakfast yet?”

That’s the heart of a mom even after a brain surgery! The brain is a muscle and that’s muscle memory that never forgets.

I am blessed to have a mom whose love for me has never changed in all these 54 years of my life and that’s her language of love. Growing up, there were many times when her same questions about if I ate really annoyed me. After all, if you look at my pudgy face (especially in this selfie), would anyone think I am missing/skipping meals? (For the record, my face is distorted wider since my arms are short and God didn’t have taking selfies as part of His will for my life.)

Even as I helped her eat dinner in that ICU room, between every other bite, she would mutter, “You should eat. What are you going to eat? You should eat some of this…” Even though she repeated those same lines over and over again, it’s not memory loss. It’s proof that mom’s love never forgets.

One thought on “Mom’s Love Never Forgets

  1. After reading your blog, I think you could also find solace among English majors though you crack jokes about them in your sermons. You are a funny writer!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.